Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Program
On August 12, 2019, changes to the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Program became effective. The Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Program Act is a permanent program and the “pilot” designation has been removed. While some provisions will become effective immediately, there is significant work the Illinois Department of Public Health (IDPH) must complete before all the changes can be implemented. Some of the requirements affect other state programs, databases and IT systems and these changes will require additional time to ensure they are completed correctly.
- New debilitating medical conditions for the Medical Cannabis Patient Program (MCPP)
- Chronic pain
- Irritable bowel syndrome
- Anorexia nervosa
- Ehlers-Danlos syndrome
- Neuro-Bechet’s autoimmune disease
- Polycystic kidney disease (PKD)
- Superior canal dehiscence syndrome
- Ulcerative colitis
- Persons under 18 years of age are prohibited from purchasing smokable medical cannabis, including vaping products, paraphernalia and associated accessories
- Veterans with a current prescription for an opioid who are receiving medical services at VA medical facilities shall be eligible to register for the OAPP
- Test bullet
- Allow registered MCPP patients to register up to three (3) designated caregivers
- Patients are no longer required to switch dispensaries and can shop at any medical cannabis dispensary at will.
- Allow a waiver of the allowable amount of medical cannabis for veterans who receive medical services at VA medical facilities - A qualifying patient who is a veteran receiving medical care at a VA health care facility may establish a bona-fide relationship with a non-VA Medical Provider to obtain a waiver to increase the adequate supply of medical cannabis for a 14-day period. The Medical Provider shall complete a written certification, including an in-person office visit within 90-days of the date of the waiver submission. Both the written certification and the waiver submission shall be submitted to the Department along with the required fee. The required forms may be viewed at http://dph.illinois.gov/topics-services/prevention-wellness/medical-cannabis/physician-information
- Allow registered MCPP patients to grow up to five (5) cannabis plants for personal consumption
Please watch this webpage or check the Illinois Department of Public Health website dph.illinois.gov/mcpp regularly for updates.
Applying for the Medical Cannabis Patient Program? Click here.
Patients and caregivers may register with the Illinois Medical Cannabis Patient Program. For any questions regarding patient and caregiver registration, call or email the DPH Division of Medical Cannabis at 855-636-3688 or DPH.MedicalCannabis@illinois.gov.
Need help completing your registry card application? Click here.
The Illinois Department of Public Health is partnering with certified local health departments (LHD) to provide assistance to qualifying patients with completing their applications for the Medical Cannabis Registry Program. There is no charge for this assistance, however, costs associated with registration fees and other requirements (i.e., passport photo, certification of debilitating condition, copies of required documents, etc.) are the responsibility of the applicant.